Skip to content

Zephyr

May 1, 2012

So this is my Zephyr my latest piece of work, finally completed after having my daughter last year.

  

This piece is very much a continuation of my original artist’s statement:

A sense of ‘the uncanny’ is at the core of my work;

in particular the direct translation from Freud’s essay

‘das unheimliche’- ‘the unhomely’.

By using, such culturally loaded, materials and techniques

as ceramics and sewing, my aim is to subtly disturb our notions

of home,family, femininity, craft and English tradition.

  

Zephyr is however more than a little influenced by the incredible mass and tangle of feelings that come from pregnancy, birth and new motherhood.

As always my work is deeply personal whilst trying to deal with some wider issues and I also relish the intriging and personal interpretations people bring to the work when it’s been exhibited, so let me know what you think!

One Comment leave one →
  1. May 21, 2012 5:44 pm

    So good to see new work! I love the plumpness of it.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

